Seven story apps stand out in 2027: KidNation’s Storyteller, Vooks, Epic, Khan Academy Kids, Moshi Kids, Duolingo ABC and Yoto. Most read your kid a book someone else wrote. KidNation reads them a story they invented.
Heads-up: KidNation is our app. We checked every other app’s App Store page on November 6, 2026.
| App | Price | Ads | What gets read aloud |
|---|---|---|---|
| KidNation Storyteller | Freemium | Zero | A brand-new story built from your kid’s choices |
| Vooks | Subscription | None | Animated picture books with words on screen |
| Epic | Subscription, 7-day free trial | Not stated | A large library of books that read to them |
| Khan Academy Kids | Free | None | “Read To Me” storybooks in English or Spanish |
| Moshi Kids | Subscription | None | Sleep stories and calm audio |
| Duolingo ABC | Free | None | Interactive stories for early readers |
| Yoto | Free app; player for screen-free listening | None | Audio stories in the app or on a screen-free player |
Compare all seven in our comparison sheet.
Your kid picks a hero, a villain, a setting, a special item and the kind of story they want. The Storyteller writes and illustrates a new story from those choices, then reads it aloud. Kids who can’t read yet still get the whole thing.
Change one choice and the story changes.
The app uses guided choices instead of an open chatbot. Kids tap options. They don’t type to a bot. The AI writes each story on KidNation’s servers, never on your kid’s device.
KidNation is made for kids ages 5 to 8 and has zero ads. It includes a hand-picked video and music library, songs by co-founder Chris “Ludacris” Bridges and the Word Ninja spelling game. The app is freemium, with a new version on the way. Join the waitlist.
Vooks turns picture books into gentle animations, with narration and on-screen words for kids to follow. It’s ad-free and requires a subscription.
If bedtime screens make your kid wired, this is the calm one.
Epic has a large digital library, including books that read themselves aloud. You can also download books for offline reading. A paid subscription begins with a 7-day free trial.
The “Read To Me” button reads storybooks aloud in English or Spanish. The full app is free for ages 2 to 8, with no ads or subscription.
Moshi Kids offers sleep stories, calm music and meditations, including some read by famous voices. It’s 100% ad-free and runs on a subscription.
It’s built for sleep, not reading instruction.
Duolingo ABC is free, with no ads or in-app purchases. Its interactive stories sit inside more than 700 reading lessons covering preschool through 2nd grade. The last App Store update was in August 2023.
The Yoto app is free and ad-free. It can play audio cards directly in the app and manage Yoto Players and Minis.
For screen-free listening, you’ll need to buy a player. These small speakers use cards that kids can handle themselves.
Each app had to read stories aloud to children in or near the 5-to-8 age range. If an App Store listing didn’t mention ads, we wrote “not stated” instead of guessing.
Prices change. Check the store before subscribing.
Ask three questions: Who’s the hero? Who’s the villain? Where does the story happen? Then take turns adding one sentence.
KidNation’s Storyteller uses a similar setup. Your kid makes the choices, and the app writes and reads the story.
Look for guided choices instead of an open chatbot. Also check where the AI runs. KidNation’s Storyteller gives children options to tap and writes each story on the company’s servers, not the device.
Khan Academy Kids. Its “Read To Me” storybooks are free and contain no ads.
Want a bedtime story your kid helped invent, read out loud? Join the KidNation waitlist.